Introduction

Brian and I in Oct. 2011

My brother Brian and I in Oct. 2011

Hello everyone!

My name is Tom Foti and I am a junior communication major at The University of Scranton.

Like any young adult’s life, I have had my fair share of obstacles. The classic bickering with your parents, trying to fit in and school stress are all challenges I faced growing up. Each event made me grow as a person and helped shape who I am today.

If we are all lucky, we will experience a remarkable and life-altering event. A time where we reassess our values and beliefs. This change helps us become a better person than we originally started.

From my earliest recollections, I have dealt with that same event on an everyday basis. You see, my childhood was very unique compared to the norm. It was one which made me mature and appreciate so many different aspects of life.

On Jan. 23, 1993, little me just barely a year and a half old, I had a new baby brother.

As Brian aged, my parents noticed that Brian began showing some unusual signs. He would not answer to his own name, nor would he make much eye contact with my mom and dad. My parents took him to the doctor’s where they diagnosed him with severe autism.

The road from there has been trying, but Brian has made leaps and bounds from his initial prognosis. Now, at 20-years-old, Brian has taught me and countless others about life. This blog will detail the many memories I have experienced with Brian as well as a few posts that will journey through a single day in his life.

This will not be a blog about the science behind the disorder, rather it will celebrate the unrecognized beauty of Brian’s world. I hope you enjoy.

9 thoughts on “Introduction

  1. kconnell@thearcofdelco.org

    Tom-I look forward to reading about the adventures of two great brothers and sharing in the memories of a lifetime. I know you feel lucky to have Brian as a brother but I hope you know just how blessed he is to have you!!
    -Kelly Connell
    Education Advocate for The Arc of Delaware County

  2. Snow White

    So very excited to read …. oh please be careful not to reveal too many secrets of the Foti Home. (just kiddin’). So very proud of you T!!

  3. Stephanie Kent

    This is great Tom! I can’t wait to read about the experiences you and Brian have had together.

  4. Aunt Jeanne

    Great job, Tom!!! So proud of you!!! Can’t wait for your posts!!! Keep up the good work!
    Love you,
    Aunt Jeanne

  5. Emily L. (keeko4)

    It’s quite surprising how similar our situations are. I, like you, have a younger brother with autism who was born a year and a half after I was. Although we are a bit younger than you are (I am 15 and he is 14), I hope that this blog can inspire me to appreciate him just a little bit more each day.

  6. ftfoti Post author

    Brian and I are a year and a half apart, too. Almost to the day. It took me a little time to fully appreciate Brian’s world. That started to form as I aged and matured. Thank you for reading. If you ever have a question, feel free to ask me. I’m always open to help.

Leave a Reply

